11th Annual Kentuckiana Klash at Bluegrass Speedway July 11

-A A +A
By The Staff

BARDSTOWN - After being rained out for the first time in 2009 on July 4, Bluegrass Speedway track promoters David and Anita Ferrell will present another evening of “Saturday Night Showtime” and it will be another Super Late Model special as the O’Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series Super Late Models visit for the fourth time this season for the 11th Annual Kentuckiana Klash, paying $5,000 to win.

The Saturday July 11 program will feature a complete program of O’Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model competition, from practice, time trials, heats, and B-Mains right through the 40 lap, $5,000 to win 11th Annual Kentuckiana Klash main event. Also in competition at the mile high-banked Nelson County clay oval on July 11 will be Modifieds ($500 to win) and WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman ($200 to win), while the Street Stock division has the night off. For the July 11 contest, the Super Late Model and Sportsman divisions will time trial, while the Modified class will pill draw for heat race starting assignments.

Activities for the Saturday July 11 event will have the pit area opening at 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand area opening at 5:00 p.m. A mandatory drivers meeting will take place at 6:00 p.m., with practice laps set to begin at 6:30 p.m. Time trials will get underway at 7:00 p.m., while racing will see the green flag at or before 8:00 p.m. For the July 11 event, general admission in the grandstand area will be $20 for adults, $10 for children ages 6 to 12, and children under age 6 are free. A pit pass will be $35.

Previous winners of the Kentuckiana Klash event include Audie McWilliams of Walton, KY (1998), Jim Curry of Norman, IN (2000), Darrell Lanigan of Union, KY (2001), Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, IN (2002, 2003), Tim Tungate of Campbellsville, KY (2004), Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN (2005, 2008) Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN (2006), and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY (2007). The event was not held in 1999.

Bluegrass Speedway is also proud to be one of only 60 tracks in the nation to have the prestigious Contingency Connection national contingency program for our racers in 2009. The Contingency Connection will have over $50,000 in national contingency postings up for grabs.

Bluegrass Speedway last raced on Saturday June 27 and feature event winners included David Webb of Nicholasville, KY in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models, Michael England of Glasgow, KY in Modifieds, Avral Thompson of Loretto, KY in WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman, and Timmy Glazer of Bardstown, KY in Street Stocks.

Current track championship points leaders heading into the July 11 racing program are Jason Keltner of Campbellsville, KY in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models, Benji Lee of Loretto, KY in Modifieds, Pat Hagan of New Haven, KY in WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman, and Johnny Cecil of Bardstown, KY in Street Stocks.

Bluegrass Speedway is located at 2221 New Haven Road at the intersection of Kentucky Highway 31-E and exit 21 of the Martha Layne Collins (Bluegrass) Parkway. For more information about all racing activities for the 2009 racing season, visit the track’s page on the world wide web at www.bluegrass-speedway.com or by phone at (502) 349-1241 on raceday.