All-Star lineup at Salem Speedway's 23rd annual Halloween 200

-A A +A

 SALEM, IN, October 20 – Salem Speedway will be the destination for a diverse field of championship winning race teams and drivers on October 29-30, as the 23rd annual Smoker Friendly Discount Tobacco Halloween 200 unfolds on the 33-degree high banks.  Following is a partial listing of championship drivers that have already filed entries for the $5,000 to win street stock classic:  

Chuck Barnes, Louisville, KY– All time Salem Speedway victory leader with 53 wins.  Seven-time Salem Speedway track champion, seven-time Halloween 200 winner and three-time Firecracker 200 winner.

Jeff Lane, Knightstown, IN– 2005 CRA Super Series Late Model champion.  Ranks fourth in all-time CRA Super Series wins with 14 and ranks second in all-time CRA Super Series top 10 finishes.  He won the 2011 CRA Street Stock championship.

Chris Harmon, Brooks, KY – 13-time figure 8 track champion (5 at the old Louisville Motor Speedway and 8 at the Jeffersonville Sportsdrome Speedway).  1998 Louisville Motor Speedway Sportsman champion.  Former Salem Speedway late model competitor.

Will Kimmel, Sellersburg, IN – 2007 Salem Speedway Late Model champion.  Veteran of the ARCA Racing Series with a career best second place finish at Salem in the 2011 Kentuckiana Ford Dealers ARCA Fall Classic.  He has also competed with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series. 

Kevin Feeney, Oxford, MI – This former Salem Speedway one-lap track record holder is a three-time winner in winged sprint car competition on the Salem high banks.  He finished second in the 2011 Auto Value Super Sprint Series season standings.    

Todd Kempf, Huntingburg, IN – Three-time Salem Speedway Lucas Oil Super Stock champion (2011-2005-2004).  With 27 career Super Stock victories he is just three wins shy of tying Chuck Barnes as the all-time win leader.  The 2001 Firecracker 200 winner has six top three Halloween 200 finishes to his credit. 

Frank Kimmel II, Borden, IN – At just 21 years old this college junior is already a three-time Salem Speedway track champion (2010-2009 Super Stock and 2008 Great American Stocks).  He has 13 career wins on the Salem oval, including the 2007 Firecracker 200.  Finished 7th in his first career ARCA start on Sept. 17th at Salem.  

Brett Hudson, Owensboro, KY – This veteran late model and ARCA Racing Series driver has won the last three $5,000 to win street stock races at Salem (2011 Firecracker 200, 2010 Halloween 200 and Firecracker 200).  Former Kentucky Motor Speedway Late Model champion.

John Hayden, Livermore, KY – This ARCA Racing Series crew chief and driver comes from a long line of Owensboro, Ky., area racers.  A veteran of several NASCAR Nationwide Series starts.

David Bayens, Memphis, IN – Two-time Salem Speedway Great American Stock champion (2011-2006) is just one win away from tying the record for most career wins (18) in the division.  He won the 2006 Firecracker 200 at Salem.

Tony Conway, Louisville, KY – This 1998 Halloween 200 winner is a two-time track champion (1991 Louisville Motor Speedway Figure 8 and 2002 Salem Speedway Great American Stocks).  Veteran Super Stock and Late Model racer.   

Beau Mitchell, Owensboro, KY – The 2006 Halloween 200 champion is the all-time win leader in CRA Street Stock action.

Shawn Smith, Louisville, KY – This four-time Salem Speedway Dash Series champion (2007-2006-2003-2002) also won the 2001 Louisville Motor Speedway Thunder Truck title.  Twelve career wins at Salem includes a 2011 Great American Stock victory.  He finished second in the 2011 GAS season standings.

Other Track Champions And Race Winners: Johnny Magee, Carthage, IN (2003 Halloween 200); Brian Hopkins, New Castle, IN (1999 Anderson Speedway Street Stock champion); Brian Bayer, Birdseye, IN (2009 Salem Speedway Great American Stock champion), Ron Lasley, Shepherdsville, KY (Louisville Motor Speedway Thunder Truck champion); Josh Poore, Anderson, IN (2011 Anderson Speedway Street Stock champion); Mark Humphrey, Sellersburg, IN (1995 Salem Speedway Super Stock champion); John Cozart, New Albany, IN (1998 Salem Speedway Super Stock champion).

Spectator gates open at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday, October 30th, with practice slated for 10 a.m. and the start of the Smoker Friendly Discount Tobacco Halloween 200 set for 1:15 p.m. (EDT).

Advance general admission tickets are priced at $14 for adults and $3 for children, age 7-12.  Kids, age 6 and under, are admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  Advance reserved seat tickets are $19 each.  For tickets or more information call 812-883-6504 or toll free 1-888-246-7223.

Spectators are welcome to view the Saturday’s (October 29th) practice session from the grandstand area with no admission charge.  The three-hour session begins at 1 p.m.