Battle of the Bluegrass Modified 9th Annual Bluegrass Rumble July 25

-A A +A

Auto Racing

By The Staff

BARDSTOWN - After a weekend off, The roar of engines returns as track promoters David and Anita Ferrell will present another evening of “Saturday Night Showtime” on Saturday July 25 and the Modified division will take centerstage in the 9th Annual Bluegrass Rumble, paying $1,500 to win for the Battle of the Bluegrass Modified Series.       


The Saturday July 25 program will feature a complete program of Battle of the Bluegrass Modified Series competition, from practice, time trials, heats, and B-Mains right through the 30 lap, $1,500 to win 9th Annual Bluegrass Rumble main event.  Also in competition at the ½ mile high-banked Nelson County clay oval on July 25 will be the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models ($1,000 to win) and the Street Stocks ($100 to win), while the WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman have the night off.  For the July 25 contest, the Super Late Model and Modified divisions will time trial, while the Street Stock division will pill draw for heat race starting assignments.   


Activities for the Saturday July 25 event will have the pit area opening at 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand area opening at 5:00 p.m.  A mandatory drivers meeting will take place at 6:00 p.m., with practice laps set to begin at 6:30 p.m.  Time trials will get underway at 7:00 p.m., while racing will see the green flag at or before 8:00 p.m.  For the July 25 event, ticket prices in the grandstand area will be $15 for adults, $8 for children ages 6 to 12, and children under age 6 are free.  A pit pass will be $30.


Previous winners of the Bluegrass Rumble event include Joe Mattingly of New Hope, KY (2001, 2004), Benji Lee of Loretto, KY (2002, 2003), Josh Lucas of Bardstown, KY (2005), Joey Kramer of Hanover, IN (2006), Miguel Coffey of McKee, KY (2007), and Jason Wheatley of Loretto, KY (2008)   


Bluegrass Speedway is also proud to be one of only 60 tracks in the nation to have the prestigious Contingency Connection national contingency program for our racers in 2009.  The Contingency Connection will have over $50,000 in national contingency postings up for grabs.     


Bluegrass Speedway last raced on Saturday July 11 and feature event winners included Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models, Michael England of Glasgow, KY in Modifieds, and Pat Hagan of New Haven, KY in WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman, while the Street Stocks had the night off.        


Current track championship points leaders heading into the July 25 racing program are Jason Keltner of Campbellsville, KY in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models, Benji Lee of Loretto, KY in Modifieds, Pat Hagan of New Haven, KY in WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman, and Johnny Cecil of Bardstown, KY in Street Stocks. 


Bluegrass Speedway is located at 2221 New Haven Road at the intersection of Kentucky Highway 31-E and exit 21 of the Martha Layne Collins (Bluegrass) Parkway.  For more information about all racing activities for the 2009 racing season, visit the track’s page on the world wide web at www.bluegrass-speedway.com or by phone at (502) 349-1241 on raceday.