Blue Lick suffers tough loss in 8 finale

-A A +A
By Thomas Barr

 HILLVIEW - It was heartbreak city on a hot day Sunday for the Blue Lick 8-year-old All-Stars.


Prairie Village scored four times in the final inning to secure the 7-6 victory.

But despite the second-place finish in the district Cal Ripken tournament, the squad  advanced to the state invitational tournament  held at Germantown Park.

Manager Ricky Bolin’s team came into Sunday’s finale undefeated, which includes an earlier 5-3 victory over Prairie Village in the winner’s bracket game on Saturday.

In the opener, Prairie Village fell behind 2-0 over two innings. In the bottom of the second, Prairie Village scored five runs to take command.

The 7-3 victory set the stage for the best game of the tournament. The winner would be the champs and the other team would be the runner-up, with both going on to the state tourney.

Once again, Blue Lick jumped on top 2-0 in the first inning. Hope Sivori and Gavin Duckett reached base in front of Zachery Masters’ 2-RBI double.

Prairie Village got one back in the first as Lex Thomas and Jesse Hand singled before Austin Priddy drove one home with a groundout.

In the third inning, Mason Roof and Sivori reached safely and Duckett’s single brought home two runs. Masters singled home the fifth run.

Prairie Village appeared poised to make a run in the fourth. However, two outstanding catches in the outfield thwarted that run.

The champs chipped a couple of runs off the lead in the fifth. Luke Reed doubled, Trent Schaftlein got an infield hit and Mason Hirst had an RBI single. Dan Candler followed with an RBI bunt single.

Blue Lick got a run back in the sixth and final inning. Cody Cissell opened with a double, Cayden Rush singled and Gavin Bolin’s bunt scored a run.

That set the stage for a wild sixth inning. Down to its final three outs, Prairie Village only needed one of them to complete the comeback victory.

Trent Switzer doubled and Hand singled. Priddy hit an sacrifice fly for one run.

Boling and Gavin Smith singled to produce another run. Reed doubled for another run to tie the score. And Schaeftlein’s single provided the winning run.

Blue Lick All-Stars included Hunter Blankenship, Gavin Bolin, Dylan Bush, Cody Cissell, Gavin Duckett, Ryan Geary, Corbin Hudgins, Mason Israel, Zachery Masters, Mason Roof, Cayden Rush, Hope Sivori and Zachary Warren.

Ricky Bolin served as manager and he was assisted by KC Hudgins and Grant Gravitt.