Colts win PW title in defensive struggle

-A A +A

2013 Greater Bullitt County Youth Football Championship

By Thomas Barr

 SHEPHERDSVILLE - When they played in the regular season, the contest was decided by a touchdown.


In the championship game for the Greater Bullitt County Youth Football League on Saturday, it was only right that the top two teams - Mount Washington and Old Mill - would square off.

This time, the game came down to an extra point and a lot of defense. 

The Mount Washington Colts remained undefeated with a 7-6 victory over the Bengals.

“This is exactly the type of game I expected,” said winning coach David Dohn. “It was a great game between two great teams.”

The game appeared to be an offensive contest as each team scored on its opening possession. But that would be the end of the scoring.

Starting at mid-field, the Old Mill Bengals went on a three-play drive.

Quarterback Cameron Helm went around the right side for a 35-yard touchdown with 5:45 left in the first quarter.

But the extra point run by Helm was stopped.

On its first possession, Mount Washington had to overcome a holding penalty to score.

Starting at its own 32, Matt Smith and Aeron Adams shared the load.

On third down from the 2, Adams carried the ball into the end zone to knot the score.

On the extra point, Adams got the ball across the goal line for the winning point with 3 seconds left in the first quarter.

From that point on, the defense took over.

Adams caught a 54-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Eli Burkhead but an illegal motion call negated that score.

In the same possession, Ethan Haddaway intercepted a pass at the 29.

But with just a few seconds before intermission, Old Mill could not capitalize.

In the final quarter, Mount Washington attempted to put the game away but Jayden Tarter intercepted at the Bengal 5.

Dohn credited his players will listening to the coaches all season and then having the ability to implement a very complicated offensive and defensive scheme.

For the game, Adams had 94 yards rushing and finished with seven tackles. Smith carried the ball for 26 yards and added five tackles.

On defense, Conner Maros led the way with 10 tackles. Cooper Calvert, Eli Burkhead and Jansen Hayden each had four stops.

Members of the winning Mount Washington Colts included: Aeron Adams, Matt Smith, Eli Burkhead, Camron Brogan, Cooper Calvert, Jansen Hayden, Conner Maros, Dylan Ruffra, Steven Bowen, Cole Unser, Landon Exely, Dylan Turner, Luke Lamarre, Dylan Baker, Cody Dohn, Devin Thompson, Cole Britt, Ethan Crider and Matthew Curry.

No stats were turned in for the Bengals.

Members of the Old Mill Bengals included: Dalton Brown, Peyton Brown, Braxton Burks, Travis Egan, Madison Gauthier, Mason Gauthier, Xavier Hansen, Cameron Helm, Colin Hogue, Jacob Kaufman, Robbie Keown, Curtis Nesbitt, Bryan Netherton, Cailen Nolley, AJ Phillips, Caleb Riggs, Harrison Stidom, Jayden Tarter, Isaiah Thompson and Richard (Alex) Webb.