David Webb Wins 8th Annual June Jam at Bluegrass Speedway

-A A +A
By The Staff

BARDSTOWN - The O’Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series presented by Graphic Impressions invaded Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, KY for the second time in 2009 and David Webb of Nicholasville, KY would start 15th, but finish first and would collect the $3,000 payday at the David and Anita Ferrell promoted venues 8th Annual June Jam.  Other feature winners for the evening included Shane Lafollette of Hodgenville, KY winning his first-ever Street Stock main event and Jason Wheatley of Loretto, KY winning his third Modified feature of ’09 at the ½ mile clay oval.   

The start of the 8th Annual June Jam event would see Dustin Neat take the race lead, followed by Steve Francis, Victor Lee, Jason Jameson, and Eric Wells.  The first caution would fly on lap 3 when Michael Chilton spun his machine in turn two.  Back under green, Neat and Francis would continue to go one-two, while Eric Wells would take fourth from Jameson on lap 4.  As Neat and Francis put some distance back to third place Lee, David Webb was charging way to the front from his 15th starting position and would be in fifth past Jameson on lap 7.  Webb would take fourth from Wells on lap 9, while Francis would begin to pressure Neat for the lead, with the duo side-by-side for the top spot on lap 10.  Things would shake up on lap 11 as Lee and Webb traded third and fourth briefly, but disaster would strike the lead pair as Neat got sideways entering turn three and Francis would spin his unit in the corner and draw the caution flag, with Neat pulling to the hot pit area with a flat left rear tire and would not return.  This would put Lee at the point with Webb in second and the restart would see Webb get under Lee in turn one momentarily for the lead, but the caution waved again as the restart was hit and finally come to a rest in turn one.  The second restart would see the front pair battle again, only to have caution fly as the field got bottled up off of turn two and Johnny Wheeler and Terry English would roll to a stop on the backchute, with both drivers being finished for the night.  The next restart would also be call back for contact with the restart cone from Brandon Kinzer, but action would finally go back green on the next restart and Webb would have lead at the line to complete lap 12.  Jordan Bland would bring out the final caution on lap 17 after spinning in turn four.  The restart would see third place Brad Neat close on Lee and take the runner-up slot on lap 17, with Jameson going back to fourth and Mike Marlar coming to fifth all on same circuit.  Webb would get a bit of breathing room by lap 21, but Neat would close back up a bit as the field completed lap 23.  The leaders were beginning to catch slower traffic and Marlar and Jameson would battle for fourth, with Marlar taking the spot on lap 25.  Webb would begin the process of lapping slower traffic on lap 26 and would work traffic masterfully over the final few laps to score the win Webb’s victory came behind the wheel of the David and John Webb owned, ORS Auto Body and Collision/Valvoline/Marine Works/Salyer’s Auto and Marine sponsored #13w C.J. Rayburn Race Cars, Pro Power Race Engines powered mount.  Brad Neat would finish second, with Victor Lee taking third, while Mike Marlar and Jason Jameson. The remainder of the top ten  would be Eric Wells, Jason Keltner, 20th starting Jerry Rice, Mike Jewell, and 19th starting Tyrel Todd.  In preliminary action, Don O’Neal was the Racing Optics Top Qualifier among 36 entries with a lap of 16.148 seconds.  Heat race checkered flags went to Jameson in Wayne Bowen Racing Supply heat one, Francis in Graphic Impressions heat two, Dustin Neat in C.J. Rayburn Race Cars heat three, and Eric Wells in All Star Performance heat four.  The B-Mains would be scored by Larry Gray, Jr. and Michael Chilton with series provisional starting spots taken by Aaron Hatton and Bobby Wolter, Jr., while Jeff Watson would be the track provisional.

Shane Lafollette would take the lead on lap 4 of the 12 lap Street Stock main event and drive away from the pack to score his first-ever Street Stock feature event victory.  Lafollette’s feature event checkered flag came aboard the David Copley owned, Geneva’s Florist and Gifts/K&K Flower Shop/Larue Insurance/Henry Miller-#1 U.K. Fan/Select Design sponsored #63 Ford Thunderbird.  Willie Edelen would hold off Brad Leake for second, with Johnny Cecil and Timmy Glazer completing the top five.  Lafollette was also top qualifier among the nine entries, with Edelen winning the heat.

In Modified action, Jason Wheatley would take the lead at the drop of the green flag and pull away throughout the 20 lap open-wheel main event to pick up his third win of the season at Bluegrass in the seat of the Kaylee and Tommy Wheatley owned B&W Metals/Wheatley Tile Flooring/Wheatley Seamless Gutters/Wheatley Auto Sales/Springfield Auto and Farm/VFM Manufacturing/Brian Wheatley Landscaping/Cozy Corner/Rosewood Golf Course/Gootee and Mattingly Heating and Air/Central Kentucky Electrical and Plumbing/Brady Excavating/St. Joe Garage/Wayne Bowen Racing Supply sponsored #7 Larry Shaw Race Cars, Mullins Race Engines powered entry.  Benji Lee, Dion Benningfield, Joe Mattingly, and Michael England would complete the top five.  Rounding out the top ten were Rocky Wilson, Adam Cole, Jeff Stith, Sam Huffer, and Brad Schlosser.  Sixteen entries would see heat race wins go to Wheatley and Lee.                 

SUMMARY-Bluegrass Speedway-Bardstown, KY-June 13, 2009

O’Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series Super Late Models (36 entries)

Racing Optics Top Qualifier- Don O’Neal 16.148   

Wayne Bowen Racing Supply Heat #1 (Top 4 Advance)- Jason Jameson, Victor Lee, Jordan Bland, Tim Tungate, Larry Gray, Jr., Chris Wilson, Buzz Williams, Tyrel Todd, Don O’Neal (DNS)   

Graphic Impressions Heat #2 (Top 4 Advance)- Steve Francis, Brandon Kinzer, Mike Marlar, Terry English, Steve Barnett, Tim Prince, Scotty Earl, Doodle Farris, Lee Devasier   

C.J. Rayburn Race Cars Heat #3 (Top 4 Advance)- Dustin Neat, Brad Neat, Mike Jewell, David Webb, Jerry Rice, Michael Chilton, Jarryd Holshouser, Terry Keltner, Aaron Hatton

All Star Performance Heat #4 (Top 4 Advance)- Eric Wells, Jason Keltner, Johnny Wheeler, D.J. Wells, Dillan, White, Bobby Wolter, Jr., Ed Behn, Daniel Hatcher, Jeff Watson (DNS) 

B-Main #1 (Top 2 Advance)- Larry Gray, Jr., Tyrel Todd, Steve Barnett, Chris Wilson, Buzz Williams, Scotty Earl, Jeff Watson, Tim Prince (DNS-Don O’Neal, Lee Devasier)

B-Main #2 (Top 2 Advance)- Michael Chilton, Jerry Rice, Bobby Wolter, Jr., Aaron Hatton, Ed Behn, Terry Keltner, Dillan White, Jarryd Holshouser, Daniel Hatcher (DNS-Doodle Farris)  

Series Provisionals- Aaron Hatton, Bobby Wolter, Jr.

Track Provisionals- Jeff Watson

8th Annual June Jam REAL Racing Wheels A-Main- David Webb, Brad Neat, Victor Lee, Mike Marlar, Jason Jameson, Eric Wells, Jason Keltner, Jerry Rice, Mike Jewell, Tyrel Todd, Steve Francis, Tim Tungate, Larry Gray, Jr., Aaron Hatton, Bobby Wolter, Jr., Jeff Watson, D.J. Wells, Michael Chilton, Jordan Bland, Brandon Kinzer, Johnny Wheeler, Terry English, Dustin Neat 


Street Stocks (9 entries)

Top Qualifier- Shane Lafollette

Heat- Willie Edelen, Shane Lafollette, Johnny Cecil, Brad Leake

Feature- Shane Lafollette, Willie Edelen, Brad Leake, Johnny Cecil, Timmy Glazer, Terry Bartley, Joe Walker (DNS- Scott Thompson, Brad Sapp)


Modifieds (16 entries)

1st Heat- Jason Wheatley, Joe Mattingly, Johnny Lee, Adam Cole

2nd Heat- Benji Lee, Dion Benningfield, Rocky Wilson, Jeff Stith

Feature- Jason Wheatley, Benji Lee, Dion Benningfield, Joe Mattingly, Michael England, Rocky Wilson, Adam Cole, Jeff Stith, Sam Huffer, Brad Schlosser, Jason Priddy, Vernon Soeder, Johnny Lee, Jeremy Hisel, Dan Beasley (DNS-Gary Parks)