Fields are set for May primary

-A A +A

Election 2010

By The Staff

    SHEPHERDSVILLE - The clock has run out on candidates wishing to run in the May primary.

    As expected, few races will be unopposed in the fall and only a few are unopposed for party nominations in the spring.

    While several races are large in number, none could match the jailer's race.

    Eight Democrats will battle for the right to face Republican Paul Watkins to replace retiring jailer Danny Fackler.

    The Democratic hopefuls include current chief deputy Martha Weaver Knox, Larry Ethington of the sheriff's department, Lebanon Junction councilman and retired police officer Earl Dion Collins, former chief jail deputy Danny Maraman, former constable Doug Walls, Kenneth A. Waters, Neil T. Cunningham a nd Todd Tinnell.

    The magisterial fields continued to grow as the deadline approached.

    In the First District, In the First District, incumbent Clifford "Buddy" Shepherd is being challenged by Democrats Dennis Mitchell, Denise Arnold and Clifton Thomas West. On the Republican ticket, B. Ruthie Ashbaugh has filed.

    In the Second District, incumbent Eddie Bleemel opted not to run for another term.

    On the Democratic slate, Brent Wheeler will be joined by David Knight and Pearl Hudson. The Republican field includes Robert Hunt, Timothy Hogg and Dan Kelty.

    In the Third District, incumbent Joe Laswell is the lone Republican to file. On the Democratic side, James (Randy) Nalley, Paul Kulmer, Dannye Allen and former magistrate Hiram Gibson Jr. have signed up to run.

    District Four incumbent David Walker is being challenged by fellow Democrats Ronnie Miller, Jerry Flener and Wayne Doan. George "Joe" Rayhill and John David Bradshaw will run in a Republican primary with the two winners to meet in the fall.

    The constable races are also contested in every district.

    In the First District, incumbent James "Butch" Johnson is challenged by fellow Democrats Mike Bratcher, Robert Watkins, Richard Dennis Holsclaw and William "Eddie" McAllister.

    In the Second District, incumbent Mike Alphin faces Democrat challenges from Timothy Hardin and Gary Asher. Clifton Hudson is the lone Republican to file.

    For the Third District, incumbent Russ McCubbins and Justin Nally will run in the Democratic primary. No Republicans filed.

    The Fourth District remains the most crowded. Incumbent Charlie Wright faces opposition from Buddy Greenwell, Judd Vandiver and Jimmy Waters.

    Other county races include:

    *Bullitt County Judge/Executive - Democrats Kenneth Hardin, David Strange and Joseph Sohm; Republicans Melanie Roberts (incumbent) and Depp Rasner

    *Bullitt County clerk - Democrat Kevin Mooney (incumbent) and Republican Kim Pace Ray

    *Bullitt County attorney - Democrat Walter Sholar (incumbent) and Republican Monica Meredith Robinson

    *Bullitt County sheriff - Democrat Donnie Tinnell (incumbent) and Republican Dave Greenwell

    *Property Valuation Administrator - Democrat Bruce Johnson (incumbent)

    *Bullitt County Coroner - Democrats Tommy Kappel (incumbent) and Timothy Hasting, as well as Republican David Billings

    *Bullitt County Surveyor - Democrat John St. Clair (incumbent)

    *Bullitt District Judge Division I - Incumbent Rebecca Ward and Roy Welch; Division II - incumbent Jennifer Porter

    In municipal races:

    *Shepherdsville mayor - Democrat Sherman Tinnell (incumbent) and Scott Ellis, Republican

    *Shepherdsville council (top six win nomination for each party) - Democrats Bonnie Enlow (incumbent), Don Cundiff (incumbent), Larry Hatfield (incumbent), Russell Peacock, Jerry Pile, David Bassett II, Marissa C. Bell, James Watkins, Faith Portman and Steven Armstrong; Republicans Jose Cubero, John D. Colburn, Bernie Brown and Alan Wetzel (incumbent)

    *Hillview mayor - Democratic incumbent Jim Eadens

    *Hillview council (top six win nomination for each party) - Democrats David Conn, Greg Burton (incumbent), Tim Boggs (incumbent), Jo-Ann Wick (incumbent), Kim Whitlock (incumbent), Randall Hill (incumbent), Harry Cooper (incumbent), Danny M. Smothers, Carolyn Jesse and Arlis Hill; Karen Johnson, Republican

    Lebanon Junction mayor - incumbent James "Butch" Sweat

    Lebanon Junction council (to run in the fall) - incumbents Larry Dangerfield, Tim Sanders, Randall Logsdon and Ozzie Maraman, Mary Allie Phillips, Steven Masden Sr., and Charles H. Waters Sr.

    Fox Chase city council - incumbents Lottie Judd and Owen Taylor, and Ted Judd

    The following state offices have filed:

    *State Senate 20th District - Republicans Paul Hornback and David J. Glauber and Democrats John E. Spainhour and David Eaton

    *State Representative 49th District - Democratic incumbent Linda Belcher and Republicans Mark Slaughter and Russell Webber

    *State Representative 27th District - Democratic incumbent Jeff Greer and Republican challenger Dalton Jantzen of Paynesville

    *State Representative 50th District - Republican incumbent David Floyd and Democratic nominee Eddie O'Daniel of Bloomfield

    *State Representative 18th District - Republican incumbent Dwight Butler