Fields starting to expand as filing deadline Jan. 28

-A A +A

SHEPHERDSVILLE -- By the time the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. holiday is observed on Monday, there will be just one week remaining to file for office in the May primary.
    And, as of Friday, the number of candidates is far less than many would have predicted. And, for the first time in the county's history, many of the races do not have a Democratic contender.
    In the race for Bullitt County Judge/Executive, two-term incumbent Melanie Roberts is facing a challenge from fellow Republican, John Bradshaw.
    Bradshaw, who is chair of the county GOP, is serving his first term as magistrate of the Fourth District.
    The Democratic contender is Tony Thompson, who is in his first term as a member of the Pioneer Village City Council.
    In the race for county attorney, incumbent Monica Meredith Robinson is being challenged by John Wooldridge. Both are Republicans.
    Another pair of Republicans have filed for the office of sheriff.
    Incumbent David Greenwell will face Donnie Tinnell, whom was defeated four years ago by the current office holder.
    The race for jailer will also see two former opponents back in the contest. Incumbent Martha Knox is the lone Democrat in the race and Republican Paul Watkins is also unopposed as of Friday. They faced off four years ago with Knox earning the victory.
    In the race for coroner, Republican Tim Hasting is the lone candidate to file. He ran and lost in the Democratic primary four years ago.
    Bruce Johnson currently has no opposition in his bid for re-election as the property valuation administrator.
    And county clerk Kevin Mooney is unopposed in his bid for another term.
    The race for First District magistrate will see the incumbent versus a former officeholder.
    Incumbent Ruthie Ashbaugh is being challenged by fellow Republican Dennis Mitchell, who has previously served as magistrate.
    No candidate had filed as of Friday for the magistrate's seat in the Second District.
    In the Third District, Republican Mike Reigle has filed. On the Democratic side, former magistrate Hiram Gibson and current Fox Chase councilman Mike Higgins have filed.
    For the Fourth District, a seat with no incumbent since Bradshaw has filed to run for county judge, long-time constable Charlie Wright has filed as the Democratic contender.
    On the Republican side, Tom Kelly, Sherry Waters Hurt and Roger Hobbs have all filed.
    In the race for constable, each of the four districts have some activity.
    In the First District, Republican Robert Watkins and Democrat Eddie McAllister have filed. Incumbent Butch Johnson has indicated he would not be seeking another term.
    In the Second District, which is currently without a constable, a pair of Republicans -- Eric Sullivan and John Cauley -- have filed.
    The Third District has Democrat Donnie Dickson and Republican James Scrogham on the ballot so far.
    And in the Fourth District, which is also guaranteed of having a new constable as Wright is running for magistrate, Republican Jimmy Miller has opposition from Democrats Buddy Greenwell and David Mann.
    With all but the city of Shepherdsville going to a non-partisan form of government, there will be fewer local races on the ballot.
    In the city of Shepherdsville, incumbent Scott Ellis is facing Republican challenge from Gaynell Rummage. The survivor would face the winner of the Democratic primary, which has councilmember Faith Portman and Brian James.
    In the council race, four Republicans have filed and all are Republican. Incumbents Jose Cubero, Dana James and Gloria Taft are joined by challenger Daryl Lee.
    The city of Lebanon Junction is non-partisan but will only have a primary if a certain number of candidates file.
    For mayor, Kim Shumaker and Steve Masden have filed. Current mayor James Sweat has said he is not intending to run for another term.
    On the council, Mary Allie Phillips, Mark E. Shumaker, Billy "Ozzie" Maraman, Tom Tyler, Tim Sanders, Connie Jackson, Terry Stovall and Larry Dangerfield have filed. If 13 file, a primary would be held with the top 12 votegetters advancing to the general election.
    There will also be a number of races to determine legislators to represent Bullitt County.
    In the 26th District House of Representatives race, Russell Webber, who serves as the 49th District officeholder under the old districting plan, is unopposed on the Republican ticket. The new district contains a majority of Bullitt County precincts and a few in Hardin County.    
    In the new 49th District, which is entirely found in Bullitt County, three individuals have filed.
    Linda Belcher, who previously served in that position, has filed for another term. She would be challenged in the Democratic primary by Jonathan Cacciatore of Hillview.
    On the Republican ticket, Michael Nemes of Sandy Drive has filed.
    In the 53rd District, which has a couple of precincts in eastern Bullitt County, as well as Spencer and Anderson counties, Democrats Kent Stevens and Donna Drury have filed. Also filing is Republican James Tipton.
    In the state Senate, incumbent Dan Seum has filed. He would be challenged in the Republican primary by Brenda Board of Shepherdsville.
    This new Senate district is aligned to cover all of Bullitt County, as well as southern Jefferson County.
    District judges Rebecca Ward and Jennifer Porter have no opposition in their non-partisan races.
    Rodney Burress is unopposed as Bullitt Circuit Judge and Elise Givhan Spainhour is unopposed as Bullitt Family Court Judge.
    The filing deadline is at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 28.