Filings slow as deadline nearing for fall elections

-A A +A

Deadline to file in election races will be at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 12, at the county courthouse.

By Thomas Barr

 SHEPHERDSVILLE - With less than two weeks to go before the filing deadline, there are few candidates who have jumped into the various non-partisan races.

And no one has filed for the two school board seats which will be contested.

The filing deadline is at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 12, in the Bullitt County Clerk’s office.

The general election is on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

In the race for Mount Washington, incumbent Joetta Calhoun will not run for re-election.

Longtime councilman Barry Armstrong is the lone person to file for that office.

And, incumbent Sandra Hockenbury is the only person to file for the six city council seats which will be open.

The city of Hillview, which will have non-partisan races for the first time, has only one candidate for mayor to this point.

Incumbent Jim Eadens has filed for another term.

Six seats are open on the city council. Incumbents Kim Whitlock, JoAnn Wick and Lisa Boggs have filed for another two-year term. Also filing as of Tuesday was former councilman David Conn and political newcomer Karen Moulton.

The city of Fox Chase will have Owen Taylor running for mayor. He was recently appointed to fill the term of Bill Broughton, who resigned in June.

The lone person filing for the Fox Chase council so far is incumbent Lois Whitis.

The city of Pioneer Village has incumbent Gary Hatcher again running for the seat of mayor.

The lone council candidate who has filed is incumbent Darlene Riedling Herps.

For the city of Hebron Estates, incumbent mayor Jerry Clark is running for another term.

Current commissioners Kathy Merrifield and Robert Denner have filed for second terms on the four-member town board.

In the school board races, Dolores Ashby and Tim Wiseheart are up for re-election. No one has filed in either district, although both are expected to run for another four-year term.

All other race fields were set during the May primary. The lone exception has been in the city of Shepherdsville, where former mayor Sherman Tinnell filed as an independent. He will face incumbent Republican Scott Ellis and Democratic councilmember Faith Portman in the fall.

Anyone with election filing questions should contact the Bullitt County Clerk’s office.