Five students earn Farm Bureau scholarships

-A A +A

 SHEPHERDSVILLE - Five local students have earned scholarships through the Farm Bureau.

Rachel Thacker, a senior at Bullitt Central High School; Jessica Carver, Carly Coulter and Christopher Blake Laytham, all seniors at Bullitt East High School; and Forrest Miller, a senior at North Bullitt High School, are the 2012 recipients of college scholarships from Farm Bureau.

Thacker received a $1,000 Bullitt County Farm Bureau Young Farmers Scholarship while Carver, Coulter, Laytham and Miller each received a $2,000 Bullitt Count Farm Bureau Scholarship.

These awards are five of the 234 college scholarships worth a total of $302,450 that the Bullitt County Farm Bureau, Kentucky Farm Bureau Education Foundation and numerous other individual county Farm Bureaus awarded this year to deserving students from across the Commonwealth.

After graduating, Thacker plans to attend University of Akron to pursue a degree in political science and a career as a lawyer or diplomat. She is the daughter of Eric and Olivia Thacker of Shepherdsville.

Carver intends to major in biology with a minor in sports medicine at Campbellsville University and pursue a career as a physical therapist. She is the daughter of Richard and Stephanie Carver of Taylorsville.

Coulter plans to attend the University of Kentucky to major in kinesiology/exercise science with a minor in business management and pursue a career as a physical therapist. She is the daughter of Wayne and Christy Coulter of Mount Washington.

Laytham plans to major in political science and minor in economics at the University of Kentucky so he can pusruse a career in political science. He is the son of Marcus and Melissa Laytham of Mount Washington.

Miller will attend the University of Kentucky to major in marketing with a minor in English and rhetoric. He intends to pursue a career in sports management, corporate law, or politics. He is the son of Janelle Miller of Louisville.

The scholarships, offered annually, are awarded to recipients who display the greatest levels of academic excellence, involvement in extracurricular activities, leadership abilities and financial need.