Hancock Co. too much for Blue Lick 15s

-A A +A
By Thomas Barr

 ST. MATTHEWS - If you could throw out a couple of games out against Hancock County, the Blue Lick 15-year-old All-Stars had a pretty good run in the state Babe Ruth baseball tournament.

After a 14-2 shelling in the tournament opener against Hancock County, Blue Lick put together a pair of impressive victories before being eliminated by the same Hancock County team.

Manager Scott Belt’s team put behind the poor opener, which featured five errors.

On Friday night, Edmonson County was Blue Lick’s first victim.

Starting pitcher Ben Parker went the distance, not allowing a hit until one out in the seventh inning. He finished with a three-hitter in the 7-3 victory.

Blue Lick got on top immediately in the first inning when Justin Stinson singled, stole second and scored on Parker’s RBI single.

The second Blue Lick run crossed the plate in the second.

Zachary McGauley singled and Branden DeVore walked. McGauley was out at third on a wild pitch but DeVore advanced to second and a balk sent him to third. Stinson’s second single drove home the second run.

In the third, Parker hit his second home run of the post-season for a 3-0 lead.

In the sixth, Blue Lick would score its final four runs. Matt Hayes and Jacob Nalley opened with singles. Curtis Goins’ sacrifice fly plated Hayes.

With two outs, Noah Nalley brought home another run. And Stinson scored the final two runs on a single.

Edmonson County got its first hit with one down in the seventh. After two walks to open the inning, Daniel Decker’s double scored one run. That was followed by a single that scored two runs to narrow the margin to 7-3.

Parker gave up one more single but then got a ground ball to Stinson for the force play to secure the victory.

On Saturday morning, Blue Lick easily defeated the Purchase Area All-Stars 21-0 in another elimination game.

However, on Saturday afternoon, Blue Lick fell behind 6-0 after two innings and was eliminated by Hancock County.

The Blue Lick 15 All-Stars included Sean Clark, Branden DeVore, Casey Goins, Matthew Hayes, Zachary McGauley, Jared McDonald, Jacob Nalley, Noah Nalley, Ben Parker, Cody Pullen, Justin Stinson and Trevor Berger.

Manager Scott Belt was assisted by Jeff Parker and David Hayes.