Jeff Watson Wins Super Late Model Main Event at Bluegrass Speedway

-A A +A

Auto Racing

By The Staff

BARDSTOWN - Jeff Watson of Campbellsville, KY had won at other tracks, but never at Bluegrass Speedway. That is no longer the case as Watson wheeled to the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model victory on Saturday evening at Bluegrass Speedway. For the first time since 2003, Sprint Car racing returned to Bluegrass Speedway with the American Sprint Car Tour delivering the action and Hud Cone of Oakland City, IN would take the A-Main win. Lastly, Timmy Glazer of Bardstown, KY would score his second win of the season in the $300 to win special for UMP Street Stocks.

Tim Tungate and Jeff Watson would bring the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model feature event to the green flag, with Watson jumping to the race lead, followed by Tungate, Dustin Neat, Terry English, and Aaron Hatton. Tungate would slip in turn two on lap 2, allowing Neat and English to scoot past, moving Tungate back to fourth. Watson would build a ten-car length in the early going on the 25 lap event, lapping slower traffic by lap 6. As Watson maintained the lead, English and Tungate would begin to battle for the third position, with English able to keep Tungate at bay. By lap 10, Neat had closed the gap to Watson, but the action would be slowed by the only caution of the race on lap 13 as Dan Dunbar would stop on backchute and would not be safely off the race surface. The restart would see Neat pressure Watson for the lead, with Watson able to maintain the lead, while Tungate and Hatton would now begin to battle for the fourth spot. Neat would repeatedly look to the inside of Watson in turns one and two, with Watson maintaining the advantage down the backchute, with Hatton finally driving by Tungate to move to fourth. The final five circuits would see Watson and Neat continue to duel for the race lead, but it would be Watson’s night as he saw the checkered flag first aboard the Finn and Jeff Watson owned Brad Burton Dairy Farms/Shofner Enterprises/Watson Plumbing/Kitchen Krate Katering/Commercial Fleet Repair/B&W Irrigation/Wynn’s Oil Treatment/Sam’s Restaurant sponsored #11 MasterSbilt Race Car, Ofria Race Engines powered machine. Neat, English, Hatton, and Tungate would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Lee Devasier, Jarryd Holshouser, Johnny Wheeler, Tanner English, and Tommy Klein. In preliminary action, D.J. Wells would be the top qualifier at 15.060 seconds, with Tungate winning the dash, while Wheeler won the heat.

The 20 lap American Sprint Car Tour main event would see Hud Cone grab the lead at the drop of the green flag and would never be seriously challenged throughout the way, with Cone taking the A-Main checkered flag in the Cone-Corry Racing owned Corey Welding/Boxell Trucking/Bell/Hinchman/AFCO Racing Products sponsored #14 Dynamite Race Cars entry. Sixteen year old Blake Nimee would take runner-up honors, with Alex Shanks third, Aric Gentry fourth, and J.T. Stapp fifth. The remainder of the finishing order would be Aaron Fry, Shane Wade, and Craig Budde, with Danny Williams, Jr., flipping in his heat and not able to start the A-Main. Cone would also win his heat and dash, with Gentry winning the other heat.

The UMP Street Stock division was in action in a $300 to win special event and Timmy Glazer would grab the race lead in the early going drive away from the field to score his second win of the season in the seat of his Cecil Transmission/Sam Murphy Race Engines/Tech 1 sponsored #93 Chevy Monte Carlo. Roy Skaggs would take runner-up honors, with Shane Lafollette starting at the rear of the field and finishing third. Terry Bartley and Garnett Eldridge would complete the top five. The remainder of the running order would be Joe Walker, Bobby Settles, and Carl Booth.

SUMMARY-Bluegrass Speedway-Bardstown, KY-May 22, 2010

44 Auto Mart Super Late Models (13 entries)

Top Qualifier- D.J. Wells 15.060

Dash- Tim Tungate, Jeff Watson, Terry English, Dustin Neat, D.J. Wells, Aaron Hatton

Heat- Johnny Wheeler, Jarryd Holshouser, Tanner English, Lee Devasier

Feature- Jeff Watson, Dustin Neat, Terry English, Aaron Hatton, Tim Tungate, Lee Devasier, Jarryd Holshouser, Johnny Wheeler, Tanner English, Tommy Klein, D.J. Wells, Rob Starkey, Dan Dunbar

American Sprint Car Tour (9 entries)

1st Heat- Hud Cone, Blake Nimee, Shane Wade, J.T. Stapp

2nd Heat- Aric Gentry, Alex Shanks, Aaron Fry, Danny Williams, Jr.

Dash- Hud Cone, Blake Nimee, Aric Gentry, Alex Shanks

Feature- Hud Cone, Blake Wimee, Alex Shanks, Aric Gentry, J.T. Stapp, Aaron Fry, Shane Wade, Craig Budde (DNS- Danny Williams, Jr.)

UMP Street Stocks (8 entries)

Top Qualifier- Timmy Glazer 19.689

Heat- Roy Skaggs, Timmy Glazer, Shane Lafollette, Carl Booth

Feature- Timmy Glazer, Roy Skaggs, Shane Lafollette, Terry Bartley, Garnett Eldridge, Joe Walker, Bobby Settles, Carl Booth


Bluegrass Speedway 2010 Top Ten Track Points after May 22, 2010

44 Auto Mart Super Late Models

Dustin Neat (Dunnville, KY)- 53

Aaron Hatton (Mount Sterling, KY)- 49

Jeff Watson (Campbellsville, KY)- 44

Lee Devasier (Crestwood, KY)- 42

Tim Tungate (Campbellsville, KY)- 35

Jarryd Holshouser (Boaz, KY)- 34

Johnny Wheeler (Campbellsville, KY)- 30

Justin Rattliff (Campbellsville, KY)- 26

Terry English (Benton, KY)- 25

Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN)- 25

UMP Open Wheel Modifieds

Jason Wheatley (Loretto, KY)- 27

Benji Lee (Loretto, KY)- 25

Jacob Webber (Corydon, IN)- 25

Bryan Fiscus (Scottsburg, IN)- 23

Randy Turpin (Lebanon, KY)- 21

Josh Lucas (Bardstown, KY)- 20

Doodle Farris (Louisville, KY)- 19

Randall Basham (Radcliff, KY)- 18

Adam Cole (Campbellsville, KY)- 17

Gary Parks (Vine Grove, KY)- 13

WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman

Barry Chesser (Bloomfield, KY)- 52

Avral Thompson (Loretto, KY)- 47

Tim Cummings (Sheperdsville, KY)- 38

Pat Hagan (New Haven, KY)- 30

Billy Meredith (Hodgenville, KY)- 29

Derek Bottoms (Taylorsville, KY)- 25

Robbie Settles (New Hope, KY)- 21

Wayne Hager (Nicholasville, KY)- 20

Elton Martin (Hodgenville, KY)- 6

UMP Street Stocks

Timmy Glazer (Bardstown, KY)- 72

Shane Lafollette (Hodgenville, KY)- 63

Joe Walker (Bardstown, KY)- 51

Roy Skaggs (Campbellsville, KY)- 37

Brad Leake (Bardstown, KY)- 27

Terry Bartley (Bardstown, KY)- 24

Jason Bartley (Bardstown, KY)- 20

Garnett Eldridge (Jeffersonville, IN)- 16

Bobby Settles (New Hope, KY)- 14

Carl Booth (Jeffersonville, IN)- 13

Norman Copley Super Late Model Rookie of the Year

Dan Dunbar (Frankfort, KY)- 13

Wesley Brummett (Harrodsburg, KY)- 12

Elton Martin (Hodgenville, KY)- 6

Modified Rookie of the Year



NEXT EVENT: May 29- 7th Annual Jerry Rucker Memorial: 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models- $2,000 to win; Weekly Racing Series: UMP Modifieds- $500 to win; WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman- $200 to win; UMP Street Stocks-$100 to win; Pits Open-4:00 p.m., Grandstands Open-5:00 p.m., Drivers Meeting-6:00 p.m.; Practice-6:30 p.m.; Time Trials-7:00 p.m.; Racing at or before 8:00 p.m.; For more information about this event at Bluegrass Speedway, visit www.bluegrass-speedway.com or phone (502) 349-1241) on raceday.