Layne Abell attends clerk’s conference

-A A +A

 FRANKFORT – Bullitt County Circuit Court Clerk Layne Abell participated in the 2011 Circuit Clerks Summer College held June 14-16 in Florence, Ky.

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Division of Driver Licensing, sponsored the event and provided training on fraudulent documents, driver education programs and services available through the Division of Driver Licensing’s field offices.

“The college was an opportunity for circuit clerks to receive an introductory course on fraudulent documents,” said Stephanie King-Logsdon, McLean County circuit court clerk and newly elected president of the Kentucky Association of Circuit Court Clerks. “Circuit clerks, in partnership with the Division of Driver Licensing, issue driver licenses and non-driver ID cards and thousands of citizens come to our offices each year for these services. Circuit clerks want to stay current on new processes and I appreciate the Division of Driver Licensing for hosting this important educational program.”

Bill Heise, director of the Division of Driver Licensing, said he was glad the division was able to offer training for the circuit clerks. “We appreciated the chance to enhance our partnership with the circuit clerks and were pleased with the success of this college,” Heise said.

In addition to transportation issues, the circuit clerks received updates from the Administrative Office of the Courts on court-related issues, including House Bill 463, the state penal code reform act, and other legislation from the 2011 Kentucky General Assembly. The AOC also provided a session on language assistance for domestic violence petitioners and gave an overview of the plan to replace the court system’s case and docket management system. The college offered 10.75 hours of continuing education credit.

Heise and AOC Director Laurie K. Dudgeon addressed the circuit court clerks during the college. A Trust For Life luncheon featured several other speakers, including Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. (who provided videotaped remarks), Attorney General Jack Conway, Transportation Secretary Mike Hancock and Trust for Life representatives. The Kentucky Association of Circuit Court Clerks sponsors Trust For Life to promote organ and tissue donation through driver licensing and the Kentucky Organ Donor registry. 

In addition to King-Logsdon, the Kentucky Association of Circuit Court Clerks elected other executive officers during the college. Loretta Crady of Hardin County is first vice president, Dianne Murray of Boone County is second vice president, Krissie Coe Fields of Barren County is secretary and Kirk Tolle of Mason County is treasurer. Jefferson County Circuit Court Clerk David Nicholson is the immediate past president. The officers are elected to a one-year term.

Circuit Court Clerks

Circuit court clerks are responsible for managing the records of Kentucky’s circuit and district courts. Circuit clerks are constitutionally elected officials from all 120 counties and serve a six-year term. They provide professional recordkeeping, receive money due the courts, pay money to required parties and to the state, record legal documents, provide legal documents and other legal materials, maintain the jury system, administer oaths, handle affidavits and issue driver licenses and non-driver ID cards.


Administrative Office of the Courts

The AOC is the operations arm for the state court system and supports the activities of nearly 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the Kentucky Court of Justice, the AOC also executes the Judicial Branch budget.