“The Winfield Warrior” Wins 12th Annual Bluegrass 50

-A A +A

Bluegrass Speedway

By The Staff

    BARDSTOWN -  Bluegrass Speedway would present its 12th Annual Bluegrass 50 on Saturday evening and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN would drive to the checkered flag first to win in the 50 lap, $5,000 event for the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model division.  Other feature winners for the night included Billy Meredith of Hodgenville, KY in WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman and Benji Lee of Loretto, KY in UMP Modifieds.


    Mike Marlar and Mike Jewell would bring the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model feature event to the green flag, with Jewell jumping to the race lead over Marlar, with Justin Rattliff, Jeff Watson, and Eric Wells in pursuit.  Wells would drive past Watson on lap 2, while Jewell quickly opened a four-car length lead over Marlar.  The front five would remain the same until the only caution of the event waved on lap 8 as Cody Mahoney would slow in turn four with a flat left-rear tire.  The double-file restart would see Jewell again take the lead, with Marlar, Rattliff, and Wells giving chase, while Watson battled with Aaron Hatton for fifth.  Hatton would get by Watson with a turn four slidejob pass on lap 9, while Marlar would nip at Jewell’s heels for the race lead.  By lap 15, Jewell and Marlar would pull away a bit from Rattliff, but Rattliff would begin to reel in the front two as the lead duo began to work traffic on lap 19 as Hatton would get past Wells for fourth on the same circuit.  As the race reached the halfway point, Marlar was still glued to Jewell’s rear bumper as Rattliff again made a charge toward the front pair.  Jewell would negotiate traffic better than Marlar and gain a bit of breathing room by lap 28, but Marlar would soon run Jewell back down and bring Rattliff along as well.  Marlar would finally make his move off of turn two on lap 34 and drive past Jewell for the lead in turn three.  Meanwhile, Rattliff would close in on Jewell for the runner-up slot as the pair would battle side-by-side for the spot on lap 38 before the duo would race hard into turn three and contact would occur between the two, with Rattliff able to gain the position.  Meanwhile, Marlar would pull away from the field over the final 10 laps and take the win in the David Wells owned Wells Motorsports/Valley View Enterprises sponsored #36 Rocket Chassis, Custom Race Engines powered mount.  Rattliff, Jewell, Hatton, and Wells would complete the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be Jeff Watson, Brad Neat, Cody Mahoney, Tim Tungate, and Joey Daniel.  Wells would be top qualifier among 16 entries at 15.269 seconds, while heat wins went to Marlar and Jewell.


    Billy Meredith would take the lead at the drop of the green flag and drive on to his first WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman feature event win of the season at Bluegrass Speedway behind the wheel of his Easy Trucking/Elite Auto Group/Parkway Service Center/Cabin Creek Farms sponsored #25 Chevy Monte Carlo, Sam Murphy Race Engines powered machine.  Avral Thompson would take runner-up yet again in the main event, followed by Pat Hagan, Johnny Cecil, and Sam Mull.  Hagan would be top qualifier among 9 entries at 18.508 seconds, while Meredith also won the heat.


    Benji Lee would pull away around the midpoint of the 20 lap UMP Modified feature event and survive a late race restart with 6 laps remaining to take his third win of the season and 35th career UMP Modified feature event win at Bluegrass Speedway aboard his Thompson Heat and Air/VFM Manufacturing/Smart Shoppers/On Time Courier/On Time Construction/Springfield Auto and Farm/St. Joe Garage/Kirker Automotive Finishes sponsored #03 Bandit Race Car, Dale Meers Race Engines powered entry.  Jason Wheatley would take runner-up honors, while Jacob Webber, Rocky Wilson, and Jeff Stith would complete the top five.  Rounding out the top ten were Adam Cole, Randall Basham, Brian Foster, Gary Parks, and Michael England.  Twelve entries saw heat race wins go to Lee and Wheatley.



SUMMARY-Bluegrass Speedway-Bardstown, KY-August 7, 2010


44 Auto Mart Super Late Models (16 entries)

Top Qualifier- Eric Wells 15.269

1st Heat- Mike Marlar, Justin Rattliff, Eric Wells, Tim Tungate, Cody Mahoney, Brad Neat, Jarryd Holshouser, Doodle Farris

2nd Heat- Mike Jewell, Jeff Watson, Aaron Hatton, David Webb, Tim Rivers, Lee Devasier, Joey Daniel (DNS- Jerry Rutherford)

12th Annual Bluegrass 50 A-Main- Mike Marlar, Justin Rattliff, Mike Jewell, Aaron Hatton, Eric Wells, Jeff Watson, Brad Neat, Cody Mahoney, Tim Tungate, Joey Daniel, Tim Rivers, Doodle Farris, Jarryd Holshouser, David Webb (DNS- Lee Devasier, Jerry Rutherford)


WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman (9 entries)

Top Qualifier- Pat Hagan 18.508

Heat- Billy Meredith, Derek Bottoms, Avral Thompson, Roger Cecil

Feature- Billy Meredith, Avral Thompson, Pat Hagan, Johnny Cecil, Sam Mull, Roger Cecil, Tim Cummings, Derek Bottoms (DNS- Barry Chesser)


UMP Modifieds (12 entries)

1st Heat- Benji Lee, Michael England, Jacob Webber, Jeff Stith

2nd Heat- Jason Wheatley, Rocky Wilson, Adam Cole, Gary Parks

Feature- Benji Lee, Jason Wheatley, Jacob Webber, Rocky Wilson, Jeff Stith, Adam Cole, Randall Basham, Brian Foster, Gary Parks, Michael England, Brad Schlosser (DNS- Vernon Soeder)


Bluegrass Speedway 2010 Top Ten Track Points after August 7, 2010


44 Auto Mart Super Late Models

1.    Tim Tungate (Campbellsville, KY)- 164

2.    Jeff Watson (Campbellsville, KY)- 144

3.    Lee Devasier (Crestwood, KY)- 130

4.    Dustin Neat (Dunnville, KY)- 116

5.    Aaron Hatton (Mount Sterling, KY)- 113

6.    Justin Rattliff (Campbellsville, KY)- 108

7.    Johnny Wheeler (Campbellsville, KY)- 95

8.    Mike Jewell (Scottsburg, IN)- 82

9.    Jarryd Holshouser (Boaz, KY)- 78

10. Tim Rivers (Salem, IN)- 73


UMP Open Wheel Modifieds

1.    Jason Wheatley (Loretto, KY)- 191

2.    Benji Lee (Loretto, KY)- 160

3.    Michael England (Glasgow, KY)- 104

4.    Randy Turpin (Lebanon, KY)- 94

5.    Brad Schlosser (Leitchfield, KY)- 91

6.    Adam Cole (Campbellsville, KY)- 90

7.    Josh Lucas (Bardstown, KY)- 85

8.    Gary Parks (Elizabethtown, KY)- 85

9.    Dion Benningfield (Lebanon, KY)- 73

10. Jeff Stith (Louisville, KY)- 62


WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman

1.    Avral Thompson (Loretto, KY)- 158

2.    Barry Chesser (Bloomfield, KY)- 154

3.    Billy Meredith (Hodgenville, KY)- 126

4.    Tim Cummings (Shepherdsville, KY)- 118

5.    Derek Bottoms (Taylorsville, KY)- 107

6.    Robbie Settles (New Hope, KY)- 94

7.    Pat Hagan (New Haven, KY)- 89

8.    Sam Mull (Jeffersonville, IN)- 75

9.    Wayne Hager (Nicholasville, KY)- 36

10. Sam Huffer (Elizabethtown, KY)- 18

11. Johnny Cecil (Balltown, KY)- 18


UMP Street Stocks

1.    Timmy Glazer (Bardstown, KY)- 166

2.    Shane Lafollette (Hodgenville, KY)- 160

3.    Joe Walker (Bardstown, KY)- 122

4.    Bobby Settles (New Hope, KY)- 68

5.    Roy Skaggs (Campbellsville, KY)- 53

6.    Terry Bartley (Bardstown, KY)- 49

7.    Jason Bartley (Bardstown, KY)- 45

8.    Brad Leake (Bardstown, KY)- 27

9.    Scott Beeler (Louisville, KY)- 25

10. Fred Mercer (Louisville, KY)- 25

11. Johnny King (Lancaster, KY)- 25