Lewis wins fifth title as MW Colts defend A division championship

-A A +A
By The Staff

SHEPHERDSVILLE - Bullitt East coach Mike Settles could watch and smile on Saturday afternoon.

For the second consecutive year, the Mount Washington Colts and the Old Mill Bengals would battle for the A division championship in the Greater Bullitt County Youth Football league.

And for the second straight year, Troy Lewis' Colts would come out the victor 12-0.

But in the long run, Settles and the Bullitt East program wins as players from both teams will eventually wear the red and gold.

On Saturday, it was another grind-it-out contest.

At the end of the first half, neither team could score.

After Tyler Harrell recovered an Old Mill fumble on the second play of the game, Mount Washington moved the ball down the field. With Coulten Maupin at quarterback, Shane Dawson was the power up the middle. However, the Bengal defense stiffened and the drive ended at the Old Mill 15.

Holding the Bengals to four plays, Mount Washington took over at the 22. However, it could not move the ball.

Mount Washington seemed to get a big break late in the second quarter. An interception by Josh Stearns and then an illegal block took the ball to the Colt 30. After Maupin ran for 15 yards, his last-second pass at the goal line was intercepted by Chase Payne.

On its opening possession of the third quarter, Mount Washington went to work.

Dawson picked up 22 yards on the first three plays. However, it was a 41-yard pass from Maupin to Chase Winstead that got the crowd going.

The Old Mill defense stopped the Colts on the first three plays from the 3; however, on fourth down at the six-inch line, Dawson was able to power his way barely over the goal line.

Up 6-0, the Colts would go on another long drive to ice the contest.

Last year, Mount Washington did most of its damage through the air. This year, it was on the ground.

Starting at the Old Mill 49, Mount Washington had to convert two fourth-down plays to score its second touchdown.

The big play was a 12-yard run by Maupin followed by a personal foul. That took the ball to the 15. On fourth and 1 from the 6, it was Maupin who would find the end zone for the 12-0 final score.

Lewis, who is retiring after winning his fifth championship, said the Colts had some early injuries and had to battle back after some losses.

As it has the past two years, Lewis complimented the offensive line for being the heart of the squad. And it helps to have a runner like Dawson in the backfield.

Coming into the game, Lewis said he knew it would be a tough contest.

"Old Mill has a great team and a great program," said Lewis. "We knew it would be a tough game."

For the game, Dawson rushed 18 times for 65 yards and Maupin had 62 yards on 15 attempts. Of his seven passes, Maupin connected on just one but it was the 41-yard completion with Winstead.

On the defensive side of the ball, Harrell, Dawson and Maupin each had six tackles. Jesse Porter and Stearns had five stops, while Dylan Lewis had four. Three tackles were credited to Daniel Goodlett, while Tyler Cecil, John Settles and Winstead had had one.

Cecil had an interception and he broke up four passes. Stearns had two interceptions for 40 yards in returns. Porter and Harrell recovered fumbles.

The Colt team members were: Tyler Cecil, Coulten Maupin, Joshua Stearns, Jacob Brainer, Alex Richardson, Shawn Clark, Buzz Hadley, Dylan Lewis, Tyler Holcomb, Zach Mattingly, Jesse Porter, Chase Winstead, Dylan Ferguson, Blake McGill, Tyler Harrell, John Settles, Shane Dawson, Kes Lutes, Dalton Henry, Austin Owen, Kirkland Alcorn, Devin Crowe, Logan Pruitt and Daniel Goodlett. Troy Lewis was assisted by Mark Kurtz, Nathan Owen and Jacob Porter.

For the Bengals, the offense revolved around the passing of Payne. He connected with Jordan Harris on five throws for 85 yards. He also connected with Eddie Yeager for seven yards. However, the Colts bottled up the Old Mill ground game.

Defensively, Zachary Caudill, Andrew Okruch and Tyler Minogue each had six tackles. Blake Ramsey, Zachary Martin and Payne each had five stops.

Justin Hagan, Eddie Yeager and Harris each had four.

Team members were: Corey Baker, Morgan Brown, Timmy Brown, Josh Burton, Jacob Carrier, Zachary Caudill, Nathan Christmas, Cody Collins, Timothy Dennis, Shane Denton, Drew Elliott, Chase Fryman, Justin Hagan, Jordan Harris, Travis Lawrence, Zachary Martin, Tyler Minogue, Andrew Okruch, Chase Payne, Blake Ramsey, Cody Simmons, Austin Story, Brent Sturgeon, Dustin Thornton, Anthony Vowels and Eddie Yeager. Head coach Adam Dodd was assisted by Anthony Brown, Nick Okruch, Cody West and Andrew Dodd.