Michael England wins 10th Annual Bluegrass Rumble at Bluegrass Speedway

-A A +A
By The Staff

BARDSTOWN, KY - The American Modified Series presented by Force Fuel and Engine Conditioner would invade Bluegrass Speedway on Saturday evening and second-generation racer Michael England would drive to the win in the 10th Annual Bluegrass Rumble, with the victory worth $3,000. Other feature event winners for the night included Steve Francis of Ashland, KY in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models and Scott Beeler of Louisville, KY in UMP Street Stocks.

Randle Sweeney and Shelby Miles would lead the 30 lap American Modified Series A-main event to the green flag, but before a full lap was completed Randle Sweeney would get crossed up in turn three and Jason Wheatley and Bryan Barber would also be involved, with Sweeney done for the night.

This would move Michael England to the pole of the race and he would take the lead on the second start of the race, followed by Shelby Miles, Don Adams, Benji Lee, and Jason Wheatley. Lee would take third from Adams on lap 3 as England and Miles set a torrid pace at the point. Wheatley would mount a challenge on Adams for third and would grab the spot on lap 6 as the front five would remain the same at this point through lap 10.

Miles would close on England on lap 12 and England started to work slower traffic, while Doug Adkins would scoot past Adams for on lap 14. With Miles continuing to apply pressure on England for the lead, Wheatley would reel in third place running Lee and that pair would begin to battle for the third position. A caution for debris on lap 19 would slow the event for the final time and on the double-file restart, England would pull away Miles off of turn two and maintain the lead, while Lee and Wheatley continued their struggle for third.

Wheatley would finally take third with a turn two slidejob pass on lap 22 as Miles continued to dog England for the top spot. England would pull away from Miles in the final five circuits of the race and take the checkered flag first in the Team WompusCat owned Jeffries Auto Salvage/Williams and Tucker Auto Salvage/Kentucky Clutch Salvage/Horton Racing/Waterhead Motorsports/Chuck Davis Machine/Simpson Machine and Fabrication sponsored #10.5 Lightning Chassis, Pro Power Race Engine powered machine. Miles, Wheatley, Lee, and Adkins would complete the top five, with the remainder of the top ten going to Adams, Miguel Coffey, 14th starting John Demoss, Ed Shamhart, and 16th starting J.T. Ayers.

In preliminary action, Benji Lee be the top qualifier with a lap of 17.553 seconds. Sweeney, England, Miles, and Wheatley would win the heats, while B-Mains would be captured by Rob Penny and Trent Young. The series provisional went to Mike Selby, with Brad Schlosser taking the track provisional.

The 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model main event would see outside polesitter Steve Francis jump to the race lead at the drop of the green flag, followed by Jarryd Holshouser, Lee Devasier, Tim Tungate, and Jeff Watson. Tungate would take third from Devasier on lap 2, while Holshouser would dog Francis for the lead. Francis would begin to pull away a bit by lap 4 as Tungate would drive around Holshouser for second one lap later.

With Tungate setting his sights on Francis, attention would shift to what would become an entertaining battle for third between Holshouser, Devasier, and Watson. Watson would take fourth from Devasier on lap 9, but disaster would strike Watson as his machine had right front suspension failure entering turn one on lap 11, with Devasier and Watson making contact and damaging the left front suspension on Devasier’s unit, ending both drivers night.

Back underway, Francis and Tungate would begin to drive away from the field, with Holshouser attempting to keep Tim Rivers at bay for third, with Chad Stapleton now fifth. The final ten circuits would see Tungate continue to pressure Francis for the point, but Francis would pull away from Tungate in the final five laps to take the win in the Chad Stapleton owned Rightway Construction/ Cowboy’s Race Cars/Outlaw Fabrication/Jones Core sponsored #32 Rocket Chassis, Roush-Yates Race Engines powered entry.

Tungate would take second, followed by Holshouser, Rivers, and Stapleton. Completing the top ten were Joey Daniel, Rob Starkey, Marty O’Neal, Wesley Brummett, and Doodle Farris. Tungate was top qualifier among 14 entries at 16.198 seconds, while Holshouser would win the dash and Watson would take the heat win.

Scott Beeler would battle with Timmy Glazer throughout the 12 lap UMP Street Stock feature race and would stave off a last lap assault from Glazer to score his first-ever Bluegrass Speedway victory aboard the Terry’s Satellite City/Daryl Hadley Racing/ Mac’s Garage/Amsoil/Pro-Tint sponsored #12. Glazer would settle for second, while Jason Bartley outlasted father Terry Bartley for third, with Joe Walker completing the top five. Beeler would also win the heat race for the division.


SUMMARY: Bluegrass Speedway-Bardstown, July 24, 2010

American Modified Series presented by Force Fuel and Engine Conditioner (38 entries)

SPEC Race Engines Group Time Trials Top Qualifier- Benji Lee 17.553

Wehr’s Machine and Racing Products Heat #1 (Top Four Transfer)- Randle Sweeney, Don Adams, Ed Shamhart, Dennis Roberson, Adam Cole, Elliott Despain, Bryan Fiscus, Rocky Wilson, Keith Smith (DNS- Robbie Gullion)

PPM Racing Products Heat #2 (Top Four Transfer)- Michael England, Doug Adkins, Miguel Coffey, Brian Shaw, Rob Penny, Jacob Webber, George Hertter, Mike Selby, Kelly Warren

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil Heat #3 (Top Four Transfer)- Shelby Miles, Benji Lee, Earl Plessinger, John Demoss, Matt Huddleston, Brad Schlosser, Matt Goulden, Randall Basham, Joey Kramer, Randy Turpin

Wiles Driveshafts Heat #4 (Top Four Transfer)- Jason Wheatley, Bryan Barber, Everett Bradham, J.T. Ayers, Trent Young, Dave Wietholder, Gary Parks, Jeff Stith, Brian Foster

B-Main #1 (Top Four Transfer)- Rob Penny, Adam Cole, Elliott Despain, Jacob Webber, Kelly Warren, George Hertter, Mike Selby, Keith Smith, Bryan Fiscus (DNS- Robbie Gullion, Rocky Wilson)

B-Main #2 (Top Three Transfer)- Trent Young, Matt Huddleston, Dave Wietholder, Jeff Stith, Gary Parks, Brad Schlosser, Randall Basham (DNS- Matt Goulden, Joey Kramer, Randy Turpin, Brian Foster)

Series Provisional- Mike Selby

Track Provisional- Brad Schlosser

10th Annual Bluegrass Rumble A-Main- Michael England, Shelby Miles, Jason Wheatley, Benji Lee, Doug Adkins, Don Adams, Miguel Coffey, John Demoss, Ed Shamhart, J.T. Ayers, Trent Young, Earl Plessinger, Elliott Despain, Rob Penny, Dave Wietholder, Adam Cole, Mike Selby, Bryan Barber, Everett Bradham, Matt Huddleston, Jacob Webber, Brian Shaw, Brad Schlosser, Randle Sweeney, Dennis Roberson

44 Auto Mart Super Late Models (14 entries)

Top Qualifier- Tim Tungate 16.198

Dash- Jarryd Holshouser, Steve Francis, Lee Devasier, Chad Stapleton, Tim Tungate, Joey Daniel

Heat- Jeff Watson, Marty O’Neal, Jerry Rutherford, Tim Rivers

Feature- Steve Francis, Tim Tungate, Jarryd Holshouser, Tim Rivers, Chad Stapleton, Joey Daniel, Rob Starkey, Marty O’Neal, Wesley Brummett, Doodle Farris, Jeff Watson, Lee Devasier, Jerry Rutherford, Daniel Hatcher

UMP Street Stocks (8 entries)

Heat- Scott Beeler, Timmy Glazer, Terry Bartley, Jason Bartley

Feature- Scott Beeler, Timmy Glazer, Jason Bartley, Terry Bartley, Joe Walker, Fred Mercer, Johnny King, Shane Lafollette