New faces elected to councils

-A A +A

2012 General Election

By Thomas Barr

      SHEPHERDSVILLE - There will be some changes in the local governmental climate in Bullitt County as several new faces will take office in January.

     In the city of Shepherdsville, Democrat Faith Portman (1,877 votes) will be the lone party member to survive.

     The incumbent will be joined by current officeholder Bernie Brown (2,062), who is a Republican.

     They will be joined by fellow Republicans Clinton Kline (1,881), Dana Bischoff James (1,975), Jose Cubero (1,834) and Gloria Taft (1,890). For each, this will be their first elected office.

     Rounding out the rest of the Shepherdsville candidates were: Depp Rasner (1,817), Larry Hatfield (1,652), Garland "Corky" Miller (1,593), Sherman Tinnell (1,549), Robert Watkins (1,410) and Robert Flaherty (1,343).

     Hatfield, Miller and Flaherty currently serve on the council. Tinnell was a two-term mayor.

     In the city of Mount Washington, five incumbents will be joined by a former member on the non-partisan council.

     Returning councilmembers will be Gayle Troutman (2,626), Lloyd "Shot" Dooley (2,588), Sandi Hockenbury (2,528), Barry Armstrong (2,495) and Greg Gentry (2,300). Joining the board will be former councilman Brent Wheeler (2,095).

     Incumbent Dennis Griffin (1,652) did not make the top six. Other votegetters were Gary Lawson (1,839), Walter Thompson (1,780), Gary Meredith (1,624) and Gregory Hilbert (1,588).

     In the city of Hillview, the four incumbents will return for another two-year term.

     Republican Karen Johnson was the top votegetter with 1,657. She was followed by Kim Whitlock (1,525), JoAnn Wick (1,509), newcomer Lisa Boggs (1,446), former councilman Randall Hill (1,380) and David Conn (1,342).

     Other votegetters were Mickey Cheatham (1,180), David Moody (1,170) and Harlen Compton (632).

     In the city of Lebanon Junction, Steven Masden led the way with 520 votes. He will be joined by Larry Dangerfield (513), Tim Sanders (469), Ozzie Maraman (460), Mary Allie Phillips (414) and Mark Shumaker (347). Write-in candidate Terry Stovall received 105 votes.

     In the city of Fox Chase, Rocky Comito led the way with 205 votes. He will be joined by Owen Taylor (188), Mike Higgins (187), Sandy Osborne (139), Lois Whitis (124) and David Selby (113).

     Other votegetters included Jim Hall (111), Alice White (100), Loretta Morgan Napier (96), Lottie Judd (85), Philip Puckett (81) and Jamie Wolz (80).

     Taylor will be the lone councilmember returning. Hall, Napier and Puckett did not win re-election.

     In the city of Pioneer Village, newcomers Tony Thompson (662) and Gary Wilson (656) were the top two votegetters. They will be joined by incumbents Peggy Druin (655), Dorleen Garrett (648), Phillip Radford (605) and Darlene Herps (572).

     Current officeholder Denver Matthews finished seventh with 551 votes.

     In the city of Hebron Estates, four names were on the ballot for the four seats. Incumbents James Tucker (305), Kathy Merrifield (283) and Russell Forshee (273), will be joined by Bob Denner (274) on the city commission for the next two years.