Nineteen students from Bullitt County named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars

-A A +A

 FRANKFORT, Ky. — Nineteen students from Bullitt County have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars. Students earn this designation by achieving a 4.0 grade point average all four years of high school and scoring at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. Their awards may be renewed each year of college if they continue high scholastic achievement, making the total value of their KEES worth $10,000.

The title honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Local students who earned this prestigious designation are:

·         Bullitt Central High School: Corey Masterson, Katherine Miller.

·         Bullitt East High School: Rachel Allgeier, John Bailey, Sidney Blanford, Jonathan Broyles, Alexis Carey, Austin Echsner, Kyle Ethridge, Kirsten Jaworski, Allison Murphey, Katie Nusz, Meredith Oder, Whitney Stansbury, Kaylan Ware, Raven Yousey.

·         North Bullitt High School: Gentry Collins, Cameron Deacon, Helen Heines.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at out-of-state schools if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards, and students may access their KEES account information on www.kheaa.com by setting up a KHEAA account through Zip Access.

To learn how to plan and prepare for higher education, go to www.gotocollege.ky.gov. For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call (800) 928-8926, ext. 6-7372.