Overdale goes to the air to win defensive struggle in ‘B’ division championship

-A A +A

CHAMPIONSHIP SATURDAY - Greater Bullitt County Youth Football

By Thomas Barr

 SHEPHERDSVILLE — It was a game that was as close as the final score would indicate.


But at the end of a cold, rainy afternoon, the Overdale Chiefs would defend its B division title in the Greater Bullitt County Youth Football and Cheerleading League.

The Chiefs went to the air to turn back a tough Old Mill Bengal squad 6-0 in Saturday’s championship game.

The top-seeded Chiefs kept the pressure on Old Mill for most of the first half. And the Overdale defense would not allow a first down in that opening half.

The lone scoring opportunity in the first half came just before intermission. Overdale drove the ball to the Bengal 7 but lost a fumble, which was recovered by Jacob Thomas.

The Chiefs broke the scoring ice with 3:21 left in the third quarter. It was Logan Steinmacher finding Noah Nida open for a 72-yard touchdown pass.

That would be the lone score.

Old Mill seemed to be in a position to tie the score late in the third quarter. A snap to the Chief punter was fumbled and Old Mill took over at the Overdale 15.

A pass interference call on fourth down kept the drive alive. However, it was Nida who stepped in front of a pass at the 5-yard-line for the interception.

That would be one of two pickoffs of the day as he stopped the final Bengal drive with the interception at the 3:08 mark in the game.

The Chiefs were led on the ground by Mason Hill and Nida, both with 35 yards. Dylan Davis had 11 and Dylan Embry had seven.

The big pass play accounted for the passing yardage on the day.

Defensively, Embry led the troops with five stops. Jimmy King, Davis and Hill each had two tackles. Single tackles were recorded by Keelan Hall, Zane Sample, Dalton Cloud, Clayton Six, Zack Carter, Nida and Steinmacher.

Other team members include Tyler Tipton, Zak Kemper, Brendan Hill, Jonathan Centers, Alec Kemper, Josh Wilson, Matt Smith, Carl Basey, Daylin Jarvis, Brady Hackbarth, Nathan Davis, Jeffrey Richards, Preston Murphy, Lucas Davidson and Caleb Workman.

Head coach Brian Richards was assisted by Ray Tipton, Danny Bell, Howard Nida, Rob Davis, Mark Six and David Davidson.

There wasn’t a lot of offense for the Bengals.

Chase Clark picked up 17 yards on the ground. The Bengals also had a 35-yard pass completion from Seth Jutz to Jacob Thomas.

The defense played well for the Bengals. Clark led the team with four tackles, while Ethan Finn, Max Gauthier and Jutz each had three. Cody Culver added two stops.

Other team members are Luke Reynolds, Christian Eberhardt, Martess Bethel, Joey Nesbitt, Hayden York, Nicholas Leslie, Jay Rucker, Luke Gentry, Caleb Heitzman, Justice VanDyke, Issiah Jenner, Allen Anderson, Codie Monahan, Mayson Allen, Steven Taylor and Ty Birge.

Head coach Bobby Sullivan was assisted by John Jutz, Ronnie Anderson, Chris Clark, Jeremy Culver and Keith Eberhardt.