Pleasant Grove caps a banner unbeaten year in Little Bullitts

-A A +A

Greater Bullitt County Youth Football League Championships

By The Staff

SHEPHERDSVILLE — With eight shutouts in their first 10 games, Pleasant Grove Dolphin head coach Rick Dattilo felt pretty good about his team’s chances in the championship game of the Little Bullitts on Saturday.

And when Michael Page scored from 30 yards out on the very first play from scrimmage, the coach felt even better.

His Dolphins would complete an undefeated season with a 12-0 victory over the Old Mill Bengals.

With 16 returning players, Dattilo was expecting a good season. He wasn’t disappointed.

“We’ve played well all season,” said the coach. “I’ve had a lot of good assistant coaches and that helps.”

Scoring on the opening play helped.

“That set the stage for the whole game,” said Dattilo.

With Connor Abnee at quarterback, the Dolphins could rely on a trio of offensive weapons.

Michael Page led the way with 102 yards, while Jaret Gatrost had 10 and Jeremy Riggs had 7.

After the opening touchdown, the defenses from both teams took over.

On Pleasant Grove’s first possession of the third quarter, Page got loose again.

Going around the right side, Page scored from 42 yards out with 1:15 left in the quarter.

With the 12-0 lead, the Dolphin defeated completed its ninth shutout in 11 games.

In the earlier contest between the two, Pleasant Grove won 18-0. In the championship game, Dattilo said his defense practiced against the reverse plays run by the Bengals.

Old Mill head coach Bobby Sullivan told his players to be proud of reaching the championship game.

He said playing hard all season is something they should be proud of and only eight of 32 teams were still playing a game on championship day.

The goal for next year will be to reach the championship game and to win it, said the coach.

For the Dolphins, the defense was led by Landon Maki with 11 tackles. Abnee and Michael Page added seven stops, while Justin Campbell had six.

Logan Abner and Cade MIller had five tackles and Tyler Gribbins and Jeremy Riggs had four. Cameron Hall, Mason Huff and Montrell Page had three stops and Collin Powell and Blake Dattilo had two. Bryce Clements had one.

Other winning Dolphins included: Chase Blanton, Hunter Brock, Peyton Carter, Kevin Clark, Kruz Holbert, Zack Jenkins, Ryan Keown, Zach Reiners, Luke Shannon, Casey Smith, Saber Smith and Nicolas Vires.

Dolphin assistant coaches were Chris Campbell, Jeremy Jenkins, Eric Shannon, Justin Abnee, Kyle Maki and Ted Gatrost.

For the Bengals, Seth Jutz led the offense with 52 yards on 17 carries. He got help from Jacob Thomas with 19 yards and 17 yards from Tre Perry. Luke Gentry had two yards.

On the defensive side of the ball, the Bengals were led by Jack Wallace with five stops.

Four tackles were turned in by Ethan Finn, Dakota Culver, Ty Hawkins and Gentry. Ethan Boyer, Jutz and Thomas each had two stops.

A single tackle was recorded by Andrew Lanham, Brayden Teague, Megan Culver, Tyler Ford and Zach Elam.

Other members of the Old Mill Bengals included: Cameron Waddle, Cody Sullivan, Conner Luckett, Dain Hawkins, Dakota (Cody) Bowen, Dawson Thompson, Dylan Giardina, Hunter Hill, Isaiah Jenner, Jacob Newman, Jay Rucker, Jaydrien Jarrett, Luke Reynolds, Mason Ford, Nolan Griffin and Ty Birge.

Assistant coaches were John Jutz, Barry Gentry and Pat Elam.