Race for county judge grows to five

-A A +A

Election 2010

By The Staff

SHEPHERDSVILLE - The fields are getting a bit more crowded for the 2010 elections.

Besides the withdrawal of incumbent Danny Fackler from the jailer’s race, the biggest news of the week was the filing of former Shepherdsville mayor Joseph Sohm.

Sohm became the third Democrat to put his name into the hat for the office of Bullitt County Judge/Executive.

Sohm joins David Strange and Kenny Hardin in the battle to win the Democratic nomination.

On the Republican side, incumbent Melanie Roberts will face opposition from her former deputy judge, Depp Rasner.

The filing deadline is Jan. 26 at 4 p.m.

As of Saturday morning, the following candidates had filed in the county clerk’s office for the 2010 elections:

Sheriff - Democratic incumbent Donnie Tinnell and Republican David Greenwell, police chief for Pioneer Village

Jailer - Democrat Larry Ethington

Coroner - Democratic incumbent Tommy Kappel and challenger Timothy Hasting

Magistrate District 1 - Incumbent Buddy Shepherd and former magistrate Dennis Mitchell in a battle of Democrats

Magistrate District 2 - Democrat Brent Wheeler

Magistrate District 3 - Democrat Randy Nalley

Magistrate District 4 - Democrat incumbent David Walker and Ronnie Miller

Constable District 1 - Former constable Mike Bratcher

Constable District 2 - Incumbent Democrat Mike Alphin and Republican Clifton Hudson

Constable District 3 - Democratic incumbent Russ McCubbins

Constable District 4 - Incumbent Charlie Wright and fellow Democrats Buddy Greenwell, Judd Vandiver and James “Jimmy” Waters

Shepherdsville mayor - Incumbent Democrat Sherman Tinnell

Shepherdsville city council - Republicans Jose Cubero and John Colburn

State Representative 49th District - Democratic incumbent Linda Belcher

State Representative 27th District - Democratic incumbent Jeff Greer

State Representative 18th District - Incumbent Republican Dwight Butler

State Representative 50th District - Incumbent Republican David Floyd

State Senate 20th District - Democrat David Eaton and Republican David J. Glauber

Hillview City Council - David Conn, Jo-Ann Wick, Greg Burton, Kim Whitlock and Tim Boggs, all Democrats.

Hillview mayor - Democratic incumbent Jim Eadens

County surveyor - Democratic incumbent John St. Clair