Score before halftime keys Colts’ victory in Pee Wee title game

-A A +A

2011 Greater Bullitt County Youth Football Championships

By Thomas Barr

 SHEPHERDSVILLE - When Mount Washington and Pleasant Grove played earlier in the season, it took five overtime periods to decide a winner.

Mount Washington Colt head coach Eric Hatter didn’t want a repeat of that game to occur in the championship game for the Pee Wee division.

But for all but .3 seconds of the first half, it appeared overtime could be in the offing.

Dalton Hatter ran a counter play and scored from 19 yards out with less than a second left in the first half.

With the 6-0 lead, Mount Washington was well on its way to a 27-0 championship win.

“We didn’t want to go to overtime again,” said Hatter, whose team was on the short end of that game. “That score was huge. That gave us some confidence that we could score.”

Pleasant Grove had been undefeated during the season.

On its next four possessions, Mount Washington would score touchdowns.

Getting the ball first, the Colts drove 39 yards with Hatter getting the touchdown from the 19. Michael Conforti scored the extra point.

Next, the Colts drove just 20 yards and it was Montrell Page who scored from the 10 with 2:23 left in the third quarter.

Preston Goers scored on the extra point.

After Conner Groves recovered a fumble, the Colts scored its final time with 7:44 left in the game. Blake Rhoades scored from the 5-yard-line and Hatter scored the extra point.

Pleasant Grove would have only three first downs the entire game.

Hatter said it was a pleasure to coach a team with so many options.

“We try to spread it around,” said Hatter. “We have a lot of options.”

On the defensive side of the ball, Hatter said the Colts were very strong all season lone.

For the game, Dalton Hatter was the leading rusher with 82 yards. Page added 39 yards and Joseph Osbourne had 30. Rhoades had the five-yard touchdown run and Goers and Conforti each ran for three yards. Nolen Cashon had one yard.

Conforti caught a 16-yard pass from Rhoades.

On defense, Conforti led the way with eight tackles. Goers and Osbourne each had six stops. Hatter made five tackles and Conner Groves, Richie Jones and Rhoades each had three. Jacob Benson and Page had two tackles and Brendan Burkhead, Blake Faulkner and Elijah Sena each had one.

Other members of the championship Colts include Daniel Cecil, Landon Hite, Will Rich, Justin Smith, Domanik Terry and Michael Ritchie.

Eric Hatter was assisted by Joey Osbourne, Matt Cashon and Sean Groves.

For the Dolphins, Cade Miller led the offense with 31 yards rushing. Miller also had 12 yards receiving.

Landon Maki caught a 15-yard pass from Tyler Gribbins.

On defense, Nathan Webb led the way with seven stops. Miller and Gribbins each had six tackles.

Collin Powell had five stops and Blake Dattilo had four. Cameron Hall, Zach Reiners, Bryce Clements, Mason Huff and Maki had three stops.

Hunter Brock had two tackles and Cameron Ray had one.

Other Dolphins included Saber Smith, Ashton Burroughs, Daren Mason, Casey Smith, Peyton Carter, Caleb Mayes, Zack Ballard, Kruz Holbert, Stephen Satterly, Andrew Renfrow, D.J. Dotson, Zach Jenkins, Luke Shannon and Ethan Knapp.

Head coach Ryan Smith was assisted by Kyle Maki, Scott Webb, Rick Dattilo, George Brock, Bryan Burroughs and Blain Miller.