State races still have questions as lawsuit still in judge’s hands

-A A +A

 FRANKFORT - With a lawsuit currently pending in Franklin Circuit Court over the redistricting of state House and Senate districts, the filing deadline for those races was supposed to be at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

With the deadline past press time, it appeared Bullitt Countians would have a variety of choices during both the primary and general elections.

In the new Senate district, the field has five candidates, down one from last Tuesday’s original filing deadline.

On the Democratic side, Scott Wantland of Mount Washington and Eddy O’Daniel of Bloomfield will battle in the primary election.

On the Republican side, state Rep. David Floyd will face Bullitt County magistrate Joe Laswell and former magistrate Dennis Mitchell in the primary.

The winners will square off in the fall general election.

Originally, the Democratic field also included Mount Washington resident Anne McAfee.

However, the local attorney would later withdraw.

“After discussing this matter with my family, the party and many Bullitt Countians, I have decided to withdraw from the race for Kentucky state Senate. Bullitt County must stand together and nominate a single Democrat for this awesome opportunity to advance the county in Frankfort,” McAfee said in a release last Friday afternoon.

“Scott has shown a level of enthusiasm and confidence in this race which leaves me little doubt he can lead the party and Bullitt County to victory in November. I give him my full support and wish him the best in November.”

Previously, Bullitt County was joined by Spencer and Shelby counties in the 20th Senatorial District. Paul Hornback is the current senator.

Under the redistricting plan approved in January by the General Assembly, Bullitt and Nelson counties would be combined into a senate district.

In the race for the new House seat, which would include part of Bullitt and a part of Hardin County, David Strange is the lone Democrat to file for the office.

On the Republican side, Pioneer Village mayor Gary Hatcher and David Glauber, who ran for the state senate seat two years ago, will battle in the primary.

Strange would face the GOP nominee in the fall general election.

In the other House race involving Bullitt County, incumbent Linda Belcher would be unopposed and would face Republican Russell Webber in the fall.