Wooldridge, Greenwell score primary wins

-A A +A

2014 Bullitt County Primary Election

By Thomas Barr

 SHEPHERDSVILLE - Bullitt Fiscal Court will have a different look when the new term begins in January.

And the county attorney's office is also guaranteed to have a new keyholder in January.

With 10,968 voters casting ballots in Tuesday's primary election, John Wooldridge came away with the victory in the most talked about race.

Wooldridge defeated incumbent Monica Robinson 2,804 to 2,177 in the race for the Republican nomination for county attorney.

Robinson is in her first term of office.

The race featured a lot of numbers being thrown back and forth. It also got social media involved with some of the supporters.

"People realized that Bullitt County could do better," said Wooldridge, who will now face Democrat Angelina Etherton in the fall general election.

Wooldridge said he was relieved that a very unenjoyable experience is now done. He is looking forward to a much cleaner, more professional race in the fall.

"I feel good because I was accused of a lot of mudslinging but they never disputed our facts with any documents," said Wooldridge.

The method of child support collection seemed to be a major concern around the county, said Wooldridge.

He also felt there was a general dislike with some of the things being done by Bullitt Fiscal Court. Although not a voting member, he said the county attorney is often thrown into that mix.

Having unsuccessfully run several races in the past, Wooldridge admitted that he was much more focused on this one.

He credited his wife, Brenda, for helping him in the planning of the campaign.

"I like to talk with people," said Wooldridge. "That part of the campaign is enjoyable."

Besides being more active, Wooldridge said his campaign started much earlier than other races.

In the other countywide race which drew the most attention, David Greenwell won re-election to a second term as sheriff.

Greenwell defeated Donnie Tinnell 3,286 to 1,776 in a rematch of the battle four years ago.

One difference is that Tinnell switched to the Republican Party and Greenwell said he felt that hurt his opponent.

But, overall, Greenwell said it was the performance of his office over the past three-plus years that made the difference.

"It wasn't just election time results," said Greenwell. "I think people saw that we've done a lot of good things in the past few years. And we have a whole lot more to do in the next four years."

The sheriff said that he is pleased with the overall performance throughout the county.

No Democrat filed in the race.

Jailer Martha Knox won her party's nomination for a second term.

Knox turned back Dan Patchin of the Shepherdsville Police Department by a count of 3,882 to 1,378.

"I seemed to be the target," Knox said of the events which have happened against the jail the past year.

She is pleased that the voters realized that her main goal was to run a safe detention center and provide quality service.

Knox praised her staff for its support.

She also praised the professional campaign run by Patchin. She said he called her election night and she was very impressed.

In the fall, Knox will be challenged once again by Republican Paul Watkins.

In other county races:

*Bullitt Fiscal Court will have the three new faces.

The first change was guaranteed to be in the Fourth District.

With John Bradshaw running against County Judge/Executive Melanie Roberts, the Fourth District had five Republicans.

Joe Rayhill finished on top with 326 votes, just ahead of Sherry Hurt, who had 314. Tom Kelly finished with 289 and Roger Hobbs had 231. Paul Ham collected 107.

Rayhill faces Democrat Charlie Wright in the fall.

In the First District, former magistrate Dennis Mitchell defeated incumbent Ruthie Ashbaugh by a count of 659-444.

He will face Democrat Michael Thomas in the fall.

In the Second District, incumbent Bob Hunt will not return. Gary Lawson won the Republican primary with 549 votes. David Branham had 342 and Hunt had 341.

Lawson races Democrat Brent Wheeler in the fall.

In the Third District, incumbent Joe Laswell turned back Republican challenger Mike Reigle 664-311.

He will face Mike Higgins in the fall as the Fox Chase councilman defeated Hiram Gibson 774-283 in the Democratic primary.

Roberts will advance to the fall general election by virtue of a 3,104-1,864 victory over Bradshaw.

She will face Democrat Tony Thompson and Independent Depp Rasner in the fall.

*County clerk Kevin Mooney, who switched to the GOP, did not see any backlash as he collected 3,867 votes to defeat Richard Seay Sr. (773) and Aaron Messer (362). 

Mooney has no fall opposition.

*County coroner David Billings outlasted challenger Tim Hasting for a second term.

Billings collected 2,416 votes to 2,051 for Hasting.

*In constable races, it was guaranteed that four new law enforcement officials would be elected.

In the First District, Republican Robert Watkins will face Eddie McAllister, who defeated Josh Riggle 618-555.

In the Second District, John Cauley will be the Republican nominee for constable.

Cauley had 321 votes with Walter Thompson placing second with 306. Eric Sullivan (303), Dale Walter (180) and Terry Williams (90) rounded out the field.

Democrat Troy Brigmon awaits in the fall.

In the Third District, Charles Shaw Sr. won 521-500 over Donnie Dickson.

James Scrogham Jr. will be the Republican foe.

And in the Fourth District, Buddy Greenwell outlasted David Mann 886-535 in the Democratic primary.

The Republican foe will be Mark Williams, who defeated Jimmy Miller 623-569.