Thirty-four local graduates earn Sen. Jeff Green scholarships

-A A +A

 FRANKFORT --  Thirty-four recent high school graduates from Bullitt County have been named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree. 

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Local scholars are:

*Bullitt Central High School: Isabelle Bradley, Margaret Lewis, Camrin Richardson, Michael Rippy, Ariel Westwood.

*Bullitt East High School: Dalton Aubrey, Luke Ezell, Brianna Gates, Ashlie Gauthier, John Glauber, Brooke Hatfield, Alexander Jackson, Kerrigan Miller, Lauren Reuss, William Smith, Miranda Whitworth, Sean Woods.

*North Bullitt High School: Carolann Cockerill, Maiyuki Druen, Gabrielle Eicher, Savannah Guelda, Kailah Habib, Elizabeth Hines, Alysha Johnson, Courtney Mudd, MacKenzie Nally, Alexis Oliver, Lisandra Plana Ramos, Justin Sharp, Kathryn VanderEspt, Ella Witt.

*Assumption High School: Connie Douglas.

*Bardstown High School: Sara Luckett.

*Bethlehem High School: Emily Faith.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. 

KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. 

In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. 

No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call 800-928-8926, ext. 6-7214.

KHEAA also disburses Advantage Education Loans, the state's only non-profit private education loan. For more information, visit www.advantageeducationloan.com.